Learning to Laugh

I have a friend who told me once that her husband doesn’t like to work on projects because unlike us , everytime he does something, something goes wrong.

It made me giggle back then and it makes me giggle still today.

Projects by definition means…something will go wrong.

I can’t begin to tell you the things that have happened over the years…but I can tell you about last night.

Hmmm where do I begin this story…..

Many years ago I bought a beautiful Thomasville coffe table. It is one of the few pieces of furniture that I have bought new over the years. I loved it then and I love it now…sort of.

This table has been used for many years to draw on…do homework on…eat…even jump off of if my kids were to be honest. Those years of abuse has taken it’s toil on my coffee table so about eight years ago I got out some paint and painted the whole thing cottage white.

It looked good but the white proved to be a lot harder to keep clean than the white wash so I decided it was time to do something new with the table. I have pondered just what that would be for days…even weeks.

Finally I decided it would be a good idea to try to strip the table down to the bare wood.

This project went a lot easier than I thought it would. I hate using chemicals to try to get paint off. Lucky for me I remembered that we own a heat gun. I had never used it before to strip paint off of furniture but I can tell you I will never go back.

Wow…it was sooo easy.

Like how Mr. Amazing weighted the table down for me?

The top turned out better than I ever imagined. I couldn’t wait to get the stain on. But first Mr. Amazing insisted on putting conditioner on the table.

Conditioner is a good thing to do when you are working with pine…which we were. It helps even out the stain. So I was patient….

Then on went the stain..I got so excited…it was looking beautiful.

But then something happened…the table started rejecting the stain in places…I didn’t take pictures because I was to upset. It looked terrible.

Hmmm …now what?

Another day…more thinking…I bought a beautiful blue paint called Sleepy Blue from Sherwin Williams. We bought an oil base because even though it is harder to work with, it does given a tougher finish (and remember…we are having a grandson soon).

Mr. Amazing worked for hours getting the paint to lay just like he wanted. Then right as he was getting ready to walk away, this light fell smack dab on the middle of the table.

Here is what the table now looks like…

I will keep you posted on what happens next, but the point of this is…if you decide you want to be a project person you better learn how to laugh.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Learning to Laugh

  1. I am so not a DIY person! God bless you & that table! haha! Thanks for linking up today to help me test my Mr. Linky! 🙂

Leave a Reply

