Table for 16?

I was reading Young House Love the other day…as I do on most days. John and Sherry were trying to figure out how to get a table that would allow them to sit all of their guests. One of the things I love the most about this blog is that it reminds me of so many great times that Mr. Amazing and I have shared through the years.

Our home has always tended to be the house where everyone would come together for all of  the large family gatherings, and it has often taken a lot of creativity to work the seating out.

Here we are many years ago in our very small 1,000 square foot house. We had 20 people coming for Thanksgiving…what did we do? We borrowed tables and chairs from the church and set them up on the back porch and prayed for good weather. What you can’t tell from this picture is that the high chair is balanced on the edge of the in-ground jacuzzi!

A few years ago, I decided that if I just had a large enough round  table, I just might be able to sit everyone together in our dining room.  The problem was, I didn’t have a large round table. We had an oval table that sat eight.

Mr. Amazing went out and bought two 4×8 pieces of 1/2″ plywood with a sanded finish and cut them each into a half circle. We then just laid them on top of our table pads on our table.

Guess what…we now have a large table that will sit 16..and when we are done, the boards store easily against the wall in the garage.

It seemed as if all my troubles were over but do you have any idea how hard it is to find a tablecloth this big? I found that a king size sheet works well.

I hope  this helps any of you like Young House Love and myself who wants to be able to seat a ton of people in their home, but also would like to leave some money for the food!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Table for 16?

  1. thank you thank you!!! what a great idea!!! I have been looking for a bigger table….this idea will work great!!! brilliant! common sence! Wish i would have thought of it!

  2. I’m glad it helps you out…we have used it for years…I love being able to have everyone at the same table instead of spread out around the house

  3. Elizabeth Rhoads

    Mr. Amazing and you make a fantastic pair!! Does the board just stay in position or do you have any trouble with those guests that eat with their elbows on the table causing it to tip or tobble??? Great advice! E

Leave a Reply

